Create your own system or lose!

by dataBus

It has been a long while since I had read a book about improving myself (assuming Asimov’s books helps indirectly). After seeing several tweets and blog posts of Dr. Murat Demirbas, who is indeed an influencer for many grad students and even professors, I asked him which book he would suggest for a graduate student and he replied with names of three books;

  • Sync by Dr. Steven Strogatz
  • How to Fail at Almost Everything and Still Win Big by Scott Adams (creator of Dilbert)
  • Mindset: The New Psychology of Success by Dr. Carol S. Dweck

After receiving this tip from him, I have started reading the second book in the list since I had already started reading it after seeing its name in the blog post of Dr. Demirbas. Actually I just saw that he has ‘energy approach to life’.

The book starts with a catchy stories which are parts of Scott Adams’ life. I have to admit that I was not expecting him to be this honest and informative while I was reading first three chapters. This honesty and frank approach of him almost touched me. I felt listening to a friend who is wise and can really help me about both big and small decisions.

I really loved the ‘Goals vs Systems’ chapter but I have to admit that it is really though to have a system without stating a clear goal which is explained later in book by calling them ‘Affirmations’. I think I understand him when he is telling goals can be destructive when a failure happens, he is right but when we approach goals as ‘affirmations’ I definitely think that it would help. Another thing is, as a person from a middle eastern country I feel respect for ‘the selfishness’ definition of him but it is really difficult to adopt such an approach when you were grown up in a poor country.

I definitely suggest you to read this book. Even if you are succeeding and good at life, it helps to reveal the story behind your success. It helped me to understand some of my failures back in my life and name some of reasons behind my so-called successes 🙂

I hope I can manage to create my system for research for rest of life. Now it’s time to read second book; I will select one of the books and will read in one week.

